Google+ Followers

lundi 25 mars 2013

An Ad for beer with omission: gluten!



http://greatist.com/health/10-healthier-beers-and-how-choose-right-one

Does beer contain gluten?
Yes.
The quantity is not mentioned on the label nor usually the quantity of carbohydrates.
"The gluten content in beer is, thus, approximately three orders of magnitude lower than in the raw malt."
Is this a problem for consumers and especially those with coeliac disease?
Yes.
There are gluten free beers (sorghum, millet instead of barley, wheat).
Keep in mind that the chemistry and pathophysiology of gluten is very complex and poorly understood.

http://www.celiac.com/articles/798/1/A-Word-on-Gluten-and-Beer/Page1.html
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/23509606
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/17071509
http://pubs.acs.org/doi/abs/10.1021/pr2008434

Aucun commentaire: